The problem of possibly being over prepared

There are two downsides to having a year to contemplate starting uni. The first is the inevitable stress and terror it will cause. (and it WILL cause, if you’re anything like me)

The second is the response to the stress. The preparation stage. It’s all very well and good being prepared. If you fail to prepare, you prepare to fail, as my woodwork/metalwork/food technology teacher used to say. I expect he still says it. (he also used to say I’d make a great spy due to my ability to answer questions very evasively, so maybe take what he says with a handful of salt)

The trouble with that is, I think I might be taking a bit too much stuff with me.

pile-of-boxes

This would be too many boxes.

So if I maybe take a suitcase full of clothes and a box full of kitchen things… and probably another box of kitchen things, and then a bag/box of notebooks and stationery things… oh! and let’s not forget my bassoon (it’s big.) and music, and sheet music, and my satchel bag(s) because I love my satchel bags…

I don’t know, is that too much? I’m pretty sure I’ve forgotten something.

4 thoughts on “The problem of possibly being over prepared

  1. That’s fiiine, pretty much the same amount as what I took (except I brought my violin and ukulele, and no bassoon, and my laptop and bedding stuff and toiletries, and only one box of kitchen stuff but it was quite big I guess).

    And this time last year, I was also stressed, but also with that tickly back-to-school feeling that I love so much. If like me however, in the week before moving day you get so stressed and nervous that you throw up after breakfast every day and stop eating because the thought of food makes you feel sick, it’s probably best to try and relax.

    • I haven’t quite got to the being so stressed I throw up stage yet, so I guess that’s something to look forward to…

      My main worry is that I’ll walk into my flat and everyone else will have… I dunno, two boxes or something.

      • if they only have two boxes then they’re either very minimalist or just came from another country and plan on buying loads of stuff they need when they get there. I know a couple of people who probably had more stuff in their room in halls than I do in my actual bedroom at home. I expect you’ll probably be somewhere in the middle or near the low end of the spectrum of amount of stuff brought.

Leave a Reply

