London II: Chinatown Strikes Back

I think my favourite thing about the trip to London this weekend has to be the fact that even though I went to see a) my friends and b) Matilda, it still ended up being all about the Chinese restaurant we went to. Er. go us?

It started pretty well, to be honest. I managed to catch the right train (!), and I only got a little bit lost in Richmond station. I don’t know how I managed it, because there are only about four platforms, but let’s say it’s just a skill of mine and move on.

photo

 

Just so you know, I definitely didn’t die.

Over night we discovered several things:

1. I snore (apparently)

2. Floors make pillows dusty

3. Apparently I can’t have a good night’s sleep if Lewis + Geo are in the room with me. hmm…

The next morning the tubes were delayed, (!!! Damn you London!) but we managed to get close enough to the front of the queue to be guaranteed £5 tickets. I love being young sometimes always.

It got kind of awks when some people turned up but they were the 33rd and 34th people in the queue, because there were only 32 young people tickets. And the whole show had basically sold out. Which is cool for the cast, but less cool for people who want to be able to turn up on the day for things and get cheap tickets.

googlemapsflah

This is a map of all the fancy places we wandered around to. It doesn’t look like much, but it was so very cold on Saturday that every inch felt like a mile. Seriously, I’m pretty sure we only went to half the places we went to because we wanted to get out of the cold. Thank you orbital comics, both for your central heating and your comics. MLP:FIM FTW

er anyway.

We loitered creepily outside Little wu’s (Mr Wu’s was closed for reasons), before taking the plunge and entering the delightfully warm building. I celebrated the £6.95 all-you-can-eat buffet by throwing food on the floor, and then eating all-I-could-eat. seriously, I felt very sick afterwards. Managed to find room for two courses though. (!) Worryingly, some of the reviews suggested Little Wu’s cuisine might make you throw up. It hasn’t happened yet guys, but if it does, you’ll know to avoid it like food poisoning.

But then, finally, makillda.

man alive. I basically think everyone in the whole world should see it. maybe at a bigger theatre though, because the world is a huge place full of lots of people.

The set was amazing (desks rising from the floor! Ceiling swings! Bookcases that turn into GATES OMG), the child actors were also amazing (and in tune), the adult actors were also good (Miss Trunchbull was a … skirt role? A guy dressed as a girl, but not in the funny way. You know, like how ‘trouser role’ = woman playing man. skirt role.). The only thing I’d like is to maybe not be sitting next to a family of SWEET EATERS. Seriously guys, pick something with a quieter wrapper next time. matilda is on stage making me legitimately shed tears here, I’d like to not have *schrunchschrunch* *omnomnom* in my ear the whole time.

***** performance. Five stars. or something. go see it. And also the Christmas lights were up, so that was nice.

 

 

Leave a Reply

