Mock Recitals, with weirdly blurred vision on the side

Last Friday I performed in front of a very small group of people. It might even be accurate to say that the small group of people was in fact approximately 10 people, possibly even less. In fact, a reasonable estimate would be half a dozen. Still, it was a recital, of sorts. Everyone taking the solo performance module is required to perform in one lunchtime recital over the course of the year, and mine was last week. So, naturally, having had two terms to prepare myself and many weeks to get in touch with the accompanist, I chose to give the accompanist my music on Tuesday and practice for the recital for twenty minutes on Thursday. My middle name might as well be ‘Well Prepared’.

Yeah, OK, maybe that’s not actually very well prepared but you can’t tell me what to do, lecturer! 

As it happens, the recital thing went reasonably well. Apart from one tiny panic in the middle where I thought we were going to have the world’s shortest concert at 15 minutes (yeah…), the whole thing went swimmingly. Until the moment when I tried to stand up (to bow), realised I couldn’t get my right eye to focus at all, that I had a sharp pain on the right side of my head, and that things were a bit blurry on the right side of the room. So I sat down again. Anyway, long story short, the pianist was eventually able to persuade everyone that there was no more music to be had (at all), and they all left. All 6 (7?) of them.

I wouldn’t have thought any more of it, except that the same thing happened today when I played in the solo performance lecture, and apparently I looked a lot like I was going to faint???? And of course, the same thing happened at the beginning of term.

SO, Science Side of the Internet: ????????????

Update: Having talked to various medically up-to-date relatives (i.e. my mother), we’ve come to the conclusion that this was probably an example of a Lightning Migraine (which is less cool than it sounds). Fucking migraines. And I’m allowed to swear in this case because they are pretty flipping inconvenient.

2 thoughts on “Mock Recitals, with weirdly blurred vision on the side

  1. How long did the episode of pain and visual disturbance last for? Did you get any other symptoms (like limb or facial weakness, photophobia, funny patterns in your vision?) Do you think it may be associated with somewhat stressful situations like solo performances?
    I know you’ve had migraines before, but this is sort of new for you right? You’ve not mentioned *sudden* pain, feeling faint or blurred vision before.

    • A few minutes, but then I had kind of a lingering headache afterwards. That’s what people have been suggesting, but I’ve never really had anything like this at a solo performance lecture so it seems weird. Yeah, it’s pretty much out of the blue so I have no idea what might be causing it. The only thing that people said was that I looked like I was kind of squinting halfway through the piece, but maybe I didn’t notice because I was so focused. All in all, a bit weird.

Leave a Reply

